The Amazon Basin

The Amazon Rainforest covers an area roughly the size of Europe, namely 7.6 million square kilometres. It includes territory in the countries of Brazil, Bolivia, Ecuador, Guyana, French Guiana, Colombia, Peru, Suriname and Venezuela, and constitutes the largest remaining area of continuous rainforest on the planet.

The majority of all species of animals and plants on earth can be found here. Amazonia is also home to over 450 indigenous peoples belonging to different language groups and cultures. However, one fundamental feature common to all of their lives is a respectful “economic approach” to the rainforest’s products, and profound respect for the forest habitat.